

Alaska Public Offices Commission MUNICIPAL ELECTIONS

Please read this document carefully for important information about starting your campaign.

This information is presented only as an overview of your disclosure requirements. It is your responsibility to familiarize yourself and your campaign workers with the statutes and regulations to ensure

you that you are in compliance with the law. Please visit the APOC homepage at www.doa.alaska.gov/apoc for further information, training opportunities, and to remain updated about your requirements and responsibilities as a candidate.

Unless they meet specific criteria found in AS 15.13.040(m)(1), candidates must file all forms and reports electronically through myAlaska. Many Alaskans already have a myAlaska account to apply for their Permanent Fund Dividend. You may use this same account for APOC purposes. Candidates have the option to allow others to view their filings, but this access is specific to APOC services only.

FORMS TO GET STARTED

<u>Letter of Intent:</u> Must be filed with the APOC *before* any candidate engages in campaign activity. A Letter of Intent allows the candidate to begin accepting and spending contributions and may be filed 18 months prior to the date of the election. <u>However, if a candidate files their Declaration of Candidacy first, they do not need to file a Letter of Intent.</u>

<u>The Declaration of Candidacy:</u> Municipal candidates file their Declaration with their specific Municipal Clerk's Office. The Declaration of Candidacy is what gets a municipal candidate's name on the ballot. Check with your Municipal Clerk's Office to find out when your filing period opens and closes.

<u>Public Official Financial Disclosure Statement:</u> Must be filed <u>with</u> the Declaration of Candidacy at the Municipal Clerk's Office. Some municipalities have opted out of the requirement of filing a Public Official Financial Disclosure Statement. Check with your municipal clerk to be sure that you are complying with the requirements of your municipality.

<u>Candidate Registration:</u> Must be filed within 7 days after filing the Declaration of Candidacy with the Municipal Clerk's Office. The registration provides your campaign contact information, designates your campaign committee, and your campaign depository. Candidates may amend registrations as needed. Until a candidate files their registration, designating a Treasurer or Deputy Treasurers, only the candidate may accept/expend campaign funds.

Municipal Exemption Statement: May be filed by municipal candidates instead of the Candidate Registration form who do not intend on exceeding \$5,000 in campaign activity, including any personal money that they may use. As long as they remain under the \$5,000 threshold, exempt candidates are not required to file regular campaign disclosure reports. However, please note that exempt candidates are still subject to the campaign disclosure laws that apply to all candidates; including, but not limited to, applicable contribution limits, maintenance of contribution and

4/2021 Page 1 of 3

expenditure records, and the requirement that ads, yard signs, and other campaign materials include "paid for by" identifiers as required under AS 15.13.090 and 2 AAC 50.306 (see pg. 3).

<u>Candidate Reimbursement Notification</u>: If candidates loan personal funds to their campaign with the intent to repay themselves after the election, they MUST file a Candidate Reimbursement Form **within 5 days** of depositing personal funds into their campaign account. The maximum limit a municipal candidate can loan and recover is \$5,000. HOWEVER, if the candidate is able to reimburse their personal contributions from the campaign account **within 72 hours** they may do so, and they do NOT need to file the Reimbursement Form.

CAMPAIGN DISCLOSURE REPORTS

Candidates, who are not exempt, are required to disclose financial information about their campaigns. The purpose of a campaign disclosure report is to provide a snapshot of a candidate's activity during a specific reporting period. The **reporting period** is the time period covered by a campaign disclosure report. A **due date** is the date when a report is due, and comes three days after the end of a reporting period. The three days allows a treasurer time to complete the report.

The number of reports filed by municipal candidates will vary depending on when the campaign begins. If a candidate filed a Letter of Intent on or before February 1st, they will begin with a **Year Start Report**, due February 15th. Otherwise the cycle will begin with a **30 Day Report** (due 30 days before the election), **7 Day Report** (due 7 days before the election) and a **105 Day Report** (which should be a final report and is due 105 days after the election). In addition, during the 9 days before an election, candidates must report the contributor name and the amount of all monetary and non-monetary contributions, from a single source, over \$250 (i.e. \$250.01) within 24 hours of receipt. Candidates may need to report each day during that period, or not at all.

OTHER START UP CONSIDERATIONS

Only the candidate, a registered treasurer or a registered deputy treasurer may spend money and accept contributions on behalf of the campaign. Any action by a treasurer or registered deputy treasurer is considered an action of the candidate. The campaign must keep all records that substantiate financial activity for a period of 6 years after the date of the election.

If a registered treasurer or deputy treasurer makes a purchase on behalf of the campaign using personal funds, it is a non-monetary contribution to the campaign (against their individual \$500 contribution limit) unless it is reimbursed. Reimbursements to a treasurer/deputy treasurer must be made within the same reporting period that the contribution was made and may not exceed \$500.

Campaign contributions held by a candidate may be used only to pay for the expenses made/incurred by the candidate that reasonably relate to election campaign activities. <u>Campaign contributions held by a candidate may not be:</u> used to give a personal benefit to the candidate or another person, converted to personal income of the candidate, loaned to a person, knowingly used to pay more than the fair market value for goods or services purchased for the campaign, pay for civil penalties, or used to make contributions to another candidate or group.

4/2021 Page 2 of 3

PAID FOR BY IDENTIFIERS

Alaska Statute 15.13.090 and Regulation 2 AAC 50.306 require a paid for by identifier on all political communications. For <u>candidate</u> campaigns, print or video communications (i.e. newspaper ads, videos, Facebook pages, yard signs, etc.) must have the visible identifier:

"paid for by" followed by the name and address of the candidate

The paid for by identifier on all video communications must remain on screen throughout the entire communication.

Audible communications (i.e. radio ads, videos with sound, robo calls, etc.) must have the audible identifier:

"This communication was paid for by (candidate's name only)"

If the communication has <u>both a print/video and audio component</u> (i.e. commercials, YouTube videos, etc.) <u>it must have both a visual and audible disclaimer.</u> The paid for by identifier on all video communications must remain on screen throughout the entire communication. Fixing missing or incomplete paid for by disclaimers costs time and money for a campaign, and can result in civil penalties.

CIVIL PENALTIES

Civil penalties apply to candidates who violate campaign disclosure law. Violations include failure to file a campaign disclosure report on time or failure to file a complete and accurate campaign disclosure report. Even if you are filing a report indicating that you have had no activity in that report period, you will be assessed a civil penalty if the report is late. It is YOUR responsibility, as the filer, to familiarize yourself (and your campaign workers) with the campaign disclosure law requirements and reporting deadlines. Penalties range from \$50 to \$500 a day depending on the report.

Review the APOC website for further reporting requirements. This information is only meant to provide you with an initial overview of your requirements as you begin your campaign. Do not hesitate to call APOC staff if you have questions. Thank you!

Anchorage Office

2221 East Northern Lights Blvd Rm 128 Anchorage, AK 99508

Contact Information

Phone: (907) 276-4176 Toll Free: (800) 478-4176 Fax: (907) 276-7018 Juneau Office

P.O. Box 110222 240 Main Street, #201 Juneau, AK 99811-0222 Phone: (907) 465-4864

Toll Free: (866) 465-4864 Fax: (907)

465-4832

Website: www.doa.alaska.gov/apoc
Information Email: apoc@alaska.gov/apoc
File Forms and Reports at: https://my.alaska.gov/apoc

4/2021 Page 3 of 3

Alaska Campaign Annual Contribution Limits – AS 15.13

FROM	TO CANDIDATE	TO GROUP & NON- GROUP ENTITY	TO POLITICAL PARTY	TO IE GROUP, INITIATIVE APPLICATION GROUP, & BALLOT GROUP
Authority	AS 15.13.070	AS 15.13.070	AS 15.13.070	AS 15.13.065(c)
Individual (AK resident)	Unlimited	Unlimited	\$5,000	Unlimited
Individual (non-resident)	Unlimited	Unlimited	\$5,000	Unlimited
Corporations, Business Organizations, Unions	Prohibited AS 15.13.074(f)	Prohibited AS 15.13.074(f)	Prohibited AS 15.13.074(f)	Unlimited
Group (based in Alaska)	\$1,000	\$1,000	\$1,000	Unlimited
Group (based outside Alaska)	Prohibited	\$1,000 Must first register with APOC*	\$1,000 Must first register with APOC*	Unlimited
Nongroup Entity (based in Alaska)	\$1,000	\$1,000	\$1,000	Unlimited
Nongroup Entity (based outside Alaska)	Prohibited	\$1,000 Must first register with APOC	\$1,000 Must first register with APOC	Unlimited
Political Party	Municipal \$5,000 House \$10,000 Senate \$15,000 Lt. Gov./Gov. \$100,000	\$1,000	Unlimited	Unlimited
Foreign Nationals	Prohibited Foreign nationals are prohibited from making expenditures or contributions in Alaska elections only to the extent prohibited or permitted by Federal law. AS 15.13.068.			

^{*} Groups based outside Alaska must ensure their received contributions comply with Alaska limitations before making contributions to groups based in Alaska or to a political party. Groups based in Alaska may not receive contributions from a group based outside Alaska whose received contributions do not comply with Alaska limitations, as such contributions are prohibited.

Individuals, Persons, and Groups may be required to fill out Form 15-5 Statements of Contribution and/or Form 15-6 Statements of Independent Expenditure where applicable. Please see our Forms page.